2012 - present. Under the directorship of Dr. Zhong-Ping Feng MD, PhD, Professor in Physiology & Medical Sciences, the collaborative graduate program has grown to include more than 500 faculty members and over 350 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows studying in various areas of neuroscience from 16 departments at UofT. Many faculty, student and postdoctoral members are also located at 9 hospital research institutes that are affiliated with UofT.

2008 – 2012. The CPIN program was under the directorship of Professor Dr. David R. Hampson, the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, as a part of the University of Toronto Neuroscience Program led by Dr. Michael G. Fehlings, Professor in the Department of Surgery. During this period, the CPIN program was funded by the Academic Initiative Fund of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Toronto and donations. A number of Graduate Student Travel Awards were created and implanted. A new curriculum of the CPIN doctoral program was consolidated in 2010. The program also recruited over 300 faculty members.

1993 – 2007. The formal CPIN program, Program in Neuroscience (PIN), was under the directorship of Professor Jonathan Dostrovsky, the Department of Physiology. Professor Dostrovsky established the strong foundation of the program and attracted as many as 185 students and ~190 faculty members to the program, thus formulating the largest collaborative program at the University of Toronto. Professor Dostrovsky also initiated the highly successful high school Brain Bee event, and organized the Annual Poster Presentation Day to strengthen the program. During this period, a part-time administrator was recruited into the program. Members of CPIN have greatly benefitted from Professor Dostrovsky’s leadership of the unique collaborative program at the University of Toronto.

More to follow.